What a wonderful time my brother and I have had for our first Christmas in Malvern! Mum had made a delicious Christmas cake and thoughtfully put it on the kitchen table, obviously wanting somebody to make sure that it tasted as good as it looked. For reasons I have never been able to understand, the family have a puritanical habit of tucking their chairs under the table. But on this occasion they’d very sensibly left one chair out, so that I was able to hop onto it and from there onto the table. I managed to devour a considerable portion of truly scrumptious cake before somebody came along and shooed me away!

The only thing is that for three days afterwards I was only able to lumber around in first gear, rather than racing around at my usual sporty sprint. I really did have quite a tummy ache, though I can’t for the life of me see how that could possibly be connected with such a wonderful cake. Anyway, Kelsey and I send you our very warmest love for the New Year and pray that your tails may be constantly wagging.