Tags

Meditations based around the Theme of God’s Mercy

There has never been generation like ours which offers so much by way of distraction and entertainment– and a great deal of it so genuinely enjoyable! There are so many options to pursue that it is all too easy to go down one interesting trail after another and yet never truly feed the soul. We are offering this simple series of meditations as a way of focusing our soul toward its highest quest – which Jesus called ‘the one thing needful.’ (Luke 10:42)

Thousands of years ago, Daniel prayed, “We do not make requests of You because we are righteous but because of Your great mercy.” (Dan. 9:18) In these meditations, we are going to celebrate His mercy, and seek to enter deeper into it through heart to heart dialogues with the Lord.

Remembering to be merciful

Be merciful, just as your Heavenly Father is merciful (Luke 6:36).

In her great outpouring of praise, Mary declares, ‘He has helped his servant Israel, remembering to be merciful.’ (Luke 1:54) I love that phrase. Rather than forgetting His promise to be merciful to the nation of Israel as the century after century passed by, God chose quite deliberately to intervene in mercy – and we are all living in the benefits of it to this day.

He warns us however to keep our heart free from a spirit of judgementalness and condemnation, for this is the very opposite of mercy, and brings all manner of judgements back upon us (Luke 6:37).

Have I embraced way of mercy Lord? Help me to forgive others so that I too may be forgiven, for then my reward will be great, and I will be acting as a child of the Most High, who is kind to the ungrateful and wicked.

Show me, Lord, whenever I am hypocritical or judgemental, or lacking in mercy (Matthew 7:3). Who am I to condemn someone else’s servant since by Your mercy You are able to make them receive Your approval (Rom. 14:4).

Selah. Pause and remember in your life occasions when you have shown mercy – and when you have not done so!

Forgive me these and many other occasions when I have shown so little mercy. Forgive my hidden faults, but most especially keep me from deliberately withholding of these purifying streams of mercy. Let mercy become the substance and the core of my being. Let springs of compassion flow from my heart – and let it be a comfortable abode for Your presence.

Welsh stream

Part Two